Governor Appoints Salsman and Edwards To Texas Compact Commission

On August 24, 2018, it was announced that Texas Governor Greg Abbott has reappointed John Salsman and appointed Lisa Edwards to the Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission for terms to expire on September 1, 2023.  The Texas Compact Commission manages the disposition of low-level radioactive waste, while maintaining the health, safety and welfare of citizens.


John Salsman is the Director of the Environmental Health and Safety Department at the University of Texas at Austin.  He is a member of the Health Physics Society (HPS) and the American Academy of Health Physics.  Salsman received a Bachelor of Science in radiation protection engineering and a Master of Science in Nuclear Engineering from Texas A&M University.  He lives in of Driftwood, Texas.

Lisa Edwards is a Senior Program Manager of Chemistry, Radiation Safety, and High-Level Radioactive Waste at the Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI).  Edwards received a Bachelor of Arts in Chemistry from Cornell College.  She lives in Granbury, Texas.


The Texas Compact Commission meets several times per year in both Texas and Vermont.  The Texas Compact Commission may meet in closed session as authorized by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Chapter 551, Texas Government Code.  Texas Compact Commission meetings are open to the public.

The Texas Compact Commission is next scheduled to meet in Manchester, Vermont on October 11, 2018.

For additional information, please contact Texas Compact Commission Executive Director Leigh Ing at (512) 305-8941 or at