Texas Compact Commission Holds August 2017 Meeting

On August 10, 2017, the Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact Commission (Texas Compact Commission) held a regularly scheduled meeting in Austin, Texas.  The meeting began at 9:00 a.m. CT.  It was held in the Room E201S at the offices of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ), which is located at 12100 Park 35 Circle in Austin, Texas.

The formal meeting agenda is available on the Texas Compact Commission’s web site at www.tllrwdcc.org. 

Agenda  The following is an abbreviated overview of the agenda for the Texas Compact Commission meeting.  Persons interested in additional detail are directed to the formal agenda themselves.

  • call to order;
  • roll call and determination of quorum;
  • introduction of Commissioners, elected officials and press;
  • public comment;
  • consideration of and possible action on applications for importation of low-level radioactive waste from Alaron Veolia, U.S. Army, Bionomics, Perkin Elmer, Dominion Kewaunee, Duke Brunswick, Duke Brunswick (irradiated hardware), Exelon, Fort Calhoun, Southern Nuclear Vogtle, Tennessee Valley Authority, and Xcel Prairie Island;
  • consideration of and possible action on an application for exportation of low-level radioactive waste from Luminant Comanche Peak, Entergy Vermont Yankee, STP, University of Houston, Midland, Trinity, UTHSC Houston and UTMB;
  • receive reports from Waste Control Specialists LLC (WCS) about recent site operations and any other matter WCS wishes to bring to the attention of the Texas Compact Commission;
  • receive reports from Texas Compact Commission committees including the Rules Committee (as Chaired by Commissioner Morris) and the Capacity Committee (as Chaired by Commissioner Weber);
  • consideration and possible action to adopt the Commission’s annual budget for FY 2018 pursuant to Article VI, Section Two of the Commission’s Bylaws and approve the budget estimates for FY 2019 and FY 2020;
  • consideration, evaluation and possible action with respect to the renewal, extension, modification of terms or dismissal of contract employees including Leigh Ing, Andrew Tachovsky and Diane Fulmer;
  • Chairman’s report on Texas Compact Commission activities including reporting on fiscal matters to be taken by the compact and addressing personnel matters;
  • report from Leigh Ing, Executive Director of the Texas Compact Commission, on her activities and questions related to Texas Compact Commission operations;
  • discussion and possible changes of dates and locations of future Texas Compact Commission meetings in 2017 and 2018; and,
  • adjourn.

Background  The Texas Compact Commission may meet in closed session as authorized by the Texas Open Meetings Act, Chapter 551, Texas Government Code.  Texas Compact Commission meetings are open to the public.

For additional information, please contact Texas Compact Commission Executive Director Leigh Ing at (512) 305-8941 or at leigh.ing@tllrwdcc.org